Silver Quill Awards

IABC Africa region launches 2020 Silver Quill Awards programme

IABC Africa has kicked off the 2020 Regional Silver Quill Awards, the programme that recognises business communication excellence across the continent.

The Quill Awards programme salutes work that makes a significant contribution to business outcomes. Evaluators will review each entry against IABC’s standard of excellence, seeking whether communicators are able to demonstrate the impact their work has had on business goals, and, that are innovative and unique. The aim is to encourage the pursuit of excellence rather than competition.

All entrants into the IABC Africa Silver Quill Awards will be encouraged to enter the 2021 Gold Quill Awards programme.



Early Bird – 30 September 2020

Final Deadline  – 16 October 2020 



Members: R799 / R999
Non-members: R1299 / R1499


Submission process

Either via email to, DropBox or WeTransfer. 


Where can I get help to prepare my Silver Quill entry?

Our key guides, The Midas Touch, provides a detailed reference to the criteria used to evaluate your entry. There are also other helpful documents including a Word document template for the work plans required.


2020 Divisions and Categories


Division 1 Resources

Division 2 Resources

Division 3 Resources

Division 4 Resources



About the Africa Silver Quill Awards:

This is the forth year that the Africa Region embarks on rolling out the Africa Silver awards programme before the global Gold Quill awards process. This is not only to recognise local communication excellence but also to assist and prepare entrants for the global programme. Once you have SILVER – then go for the GOLD!!!


About the global Gold Quill Awards:

For more than 40 years, IABC’s Gold Quill Awards have recognised and awarded excellence in strategic communication worldwide. The Gold Quill Awards honour the dedication, innovation and passion of communicators on a global scale with a focus on achieving solid business outcomes.