+27 72 226 0255


Celebrating Communication Excellence in Africa and globally.


Silver Quill Awards

The Silver Quill Awards is an annual recognition program to celebrate leadership, communication excellence and work that makes a significant contribution to business outcomes within Africa.

We encourage you to get involved in this exciting awards program by sending in your nominations, recognising those individuals who continue to push the limits through perseverance, innovation and dedication.

It is through this program, that peers will have access to reliable communication practices and great communication ideas. It is through your projects and innovation that the African people of tomorrow will continue to deliver results and ensure that management sees communication as a key business driver and open new doors for you.

Once you have Silver, go for Gold!


Gold Quill Awards

“The Gold Quill Awards is IABC’s premier program recognizing and fostering excellence in the field of business communication. For more than 40 years, IABC’s Gold Quill Awards have recognized and awarded excellence in strategic communication worldwide. Gold Quill is the only awards program that honors the dedication, innovation and passion of communicators on a global scale.”  www.iabc.com


Excel Award

Each year, the association honours a top-level executive for his/her contribution to business communication. This contribution can include initiating, directing, supporting or sustaining outstanding and effective communication programmes. The award is frequently given to a chief executive officer, managing director or general manager.

The international EXCEL Award programme is largely recognised as the IABC’s highest honour to be bestowed on a non-member. There are no restrictions or biases based on size of organisation or budget. Nominations for this award are made by both IABC members and non-members.

This year’s winner is Alex Thiel, CEO Sappi Southern Africa.

Past winners include:

Prof. Jonathan Jansen
Michael Jordaan
Mervyn King
Dr Theuns Eloff
Norman Mbazima