Silver Quill Awards

IABC Africa region launches Silver Quill Awards programme


The International Association of Business Communicators (IABC) Africa Region is excited to announce the kick off to the 2018 Regional Silver Quill Awards programme. The programme recognises business communication excellence across the continent, and is acknowledged as one of the most prestigious global communication awards.

All entrants into the IABC Africa Silver Quill Awards will be encouraged to enter the 2019 global awards programme, which will be presented at an Excellence Gala as part of the IABC’s World Conference in 2019.

The Quill Awards are unique in the industry because they recognise work that makes a significant contribution to business outcomes. Evaluators will review each entry against IABC’s standard of excellence, encouraging the pursuit of excellence rather than competition. Evaluators particularly look for entries where communicators are able to demonstrate the impact their work had on business goals and are innovative and unique.

“Local communicators produce exceptional work, which deserves to be recognised on the global stage”, says Carol Allers, IABC Africa regional chairperson. She adds, “the IABC African Silver Quill Awards not only recognises local communication excellence, but also helps to prepare entrants for the global Gold Quills programme. Entrants are guaranteed a thorough judging process, followed by detailed feedback to help prepare for the global awards entry”.



31 August 2018 – Early bird deadline

14 September 2018 – Final deadline

29 September 2018 – Evaluation of the Africa Silver Quill Awards

24 October 2018 – Gala evening hosted at the IABC Africa Regional Conference where the winners of an Africa Silver Quill Award will receive their awards



Members: R 999

Non-members: R 1499


Submission process:

Either via email to, Drop Box or We Transfer. Based on your location, you may hand deliver it to a specific location as well if need be. This will be advised when you enter.


Where can I get help to prepare my Silver Quill entry?

Our key guides, The Midas Touch, provides a detailed reference to the criteria used to evaluate your entry. There are two versions of The Midas Touch – one for Divisions 1, 2 and 3, (Communication Management, Communication Research and Communication Training and Education) and one for Division 4 (communication skills). There are also other helpful documents including a Word document template for the work plans required for Divisions 1, 2 and 3, and a Word document template for Division 4

Click here for a full list of Divisions and Categories.


About the Africa Silver Quill Awards:

This is the third year that the Africa Region embarks on rolling out the Africa Silver awards programme before the global Gold Quill awards process. This is not only to recognise local communication excellence but also to assist and prepare entrants for the global programme. Once you have SILVER – then go for the GOLD!!!


About the global Gold Quill Awards:

For more than 40 years, IABC’s Gold Quill Awards have recognised and awarded excellence in strategic communication worldwide. The Gold Quill Awards honour the dedication, innovation and passion of communicators on a global scale with a focus on achieving solid business outcomes.