Silver Quill Awards

Africa Silver Quill Awards 2017

The 2017 Silver Quill Awards are here!

This is the second year that the Africa Region embarks on rolling out the Africa Silver Quill Awards programme before the global Gold Quill Awards process. This is not only to recognise local communication excellence but also to assist and prepare entrants for the global programme. 

The programme recognises business communication excellence across the continent, and is acknowledged as one of the most prestigious global communication awards.

The Silver Quill programme is now accepting entries, and the early-bird deadline is 15 September. 

Find out all you need to know to get started on the path to global recognition right here.



Deadline Extension: 6 October 2017 Final Deadline for Submissions

14 October – Evaluation of the Africa Silver Quill Awards

2 November – Gala evening hosted at the IABC Africa Masterclass 2017 where the winners of an Africa Silver Quill Award will receive their awards



Members: R999

Non-members: R1499

Please email Zanandi Allers at for more information on the payment process.


Submission process:

Either via email to Based on your location, you will be advised to either mail your submission or hand deliver it to a specific location. This will be advised when you enter.


Where can I get help to prepare my Silver Quill entry?

Our key guides, The Midas Touch, provides a detailed reference to the criteria used to evaluate your entry. There are two versions of The Midas Touch – one for Divisions 1, 2 and 3, (Communication Management, Communication Research and Communication Training and Education) and one for Division 4 (communication skills). There are also other helpful documents including a Word document template for the work plans required for Divisions 1, 2 and 3, and a Word document template for Division 4


Click here for more information on the Silver Quill Awards 4 Divisions and 28 Categories.